Does Hitting The Chain In Disc Golf Count?

According to the PDGA, hitting the chain does count if the disc is steady and supported by the target, and if a part of the disc entered the basket by going over the top of the tray and beneath the chain support.

Essentially, this means that the basket counts as long as the disc lands inside or is being supported inside the basket. If the disc hits the chains and bounces out, it does not count.

A helpful way to think of how a disc might legally enter the basket even when hitting the chain is to imagine a cylindrical plane going from the top of the tray to beneath the chain support. If the disc breaks the plane, then it has entered the basket legally and correctly.

Does Hitting The Chain In Disc Golf Count

A couple of hypothetical scenarios where the disk has entered the basket despite hitting the chain would be if a disc has spanned the nubs even if it got stuck upon entering or exiting after having hit the chains.

If the part of the disc is above the top of the tray then it has correctly entered the basket. Even if some part of the disc is above the top of the tray, but is precarious or teetering then this would not count. A disc has also legally landed in a basket even if it’s tangled in the chain.

However, if a disc is wedged in the tray then this is not legal or correct, as it would’ve most likely landed there by flying into the side of the tray, but if it entered above the tray and ricocheted back out and somehow got stuck in the side, then it is legal.

So now we know that a disc hitting the chain in a game of Disc Golf does count, this might have brought up more putting questions for you. If you’re a beginner, you must be wondering what is even considered a basket. But never fear, as we have the answers to those questions below!

What Is Considered A Basket In Disc Golf?

As we have already mentioned above, a basket is achieved when a disc enters from the side of the basket and above the cage.

When a disc lands it has to be steady, and supported by the target, such as the cage, the chains, and the pole. So if your disc lands on top of the basket or is wedged in the side of the cage (common when playing with soft putters) then it doesn’t count.

If your putter hits the chain and bounces off it, this is not considered a basket. It also doesn’t count if your disc hits the bottom of the basket or the metal pole and bounces off, or if your disc slips through the holes on the top of the basket. No one said Disc Golf putting is easy! So let’s take a look at some frequently asked questions below.

Disc Golf Putting: Frequently Asked Questions

The main rules for putting in Disc Golf only relate to a couple specific areas and don’t go into specific scenarios. This is mainly because the rules of throwing also apply to putting. But this also raises a lot of questions around putting, and what is and isn’t considered legal.

Do You Have To Play Disc Golf With A Putter?

While nothing in the rules says you have to play Disc Golf with a putter, it is highly recommended, so you have a disc for every aspect of the game. However, some people choose not to use one, and putt with a distance driver instead. Putting with a distance driver can come in handy when playing in heavy winds.

Is Putting With A Disc Golf Mini Allowed?

Yes, you are allowed to putt with a Disc Golf mini marker as long as it is PDGA approved. However, it’s generally not recommended to putt with a Disc Golf mini due to how easily it can slide through the chains.

Is It Against The Rules If My Putter Hits The Bag Of Another Player?

If your disc hits the bag of another player then you have to take your shot where the disc landed. A courtesy violation may be raised and a penalty shot for a second courtesy violation issued if the tournament official believes the bag was placed there intentionally to obstruct or interfere with the throw of another player or to cause distraction.

But nowhere in the PDGA rules does it say you will be penalized for hitting another player’s bag. However, you can be hit with an accusation of unsportsmanlike behavior or improper play if you notice a bag is going to be in your way, and you don’t request that the owner move it.

You are ultimately responsible for asking other players to move their property and if they refuse then a courtesy violation is issued against them.

If your disc hits your bag then, again, you take the shot where it landed, and you may get issued with a penalty shot.

Are You Allowed To Move A Branch That Is In Your Putting Line?

No, you are not allowed to move a branch that may be obstructing your putting line. One of the key rules of Disc Golf is that you’re not allowed to move anything that is naturally part of the course, unless these are loose objects or sticks that affect your balance and stance.

Can You Use A Practice Putt In Disc Golf?

Yes, you can use a practice putt when playing Disc Golf, but you may be issued with a penalty shot that goes against the score you achieve on that hole.

You have to be mindful, since the PDGA considers any throw that is not an attempt to change your lie as a practice shot. This is often considered a penalty if a player misses a putt and throws another disc towards the basket in frustration.

Therefore, it’s a bit risky for you to announce beforehand that you didn’t mean for that throw from your lie to be taken into consideration. However, it is considered rather pointless to get a penalty for a practice throw, so it’s not worth the risk to use a practice putt in Disc Golf.

Final Thoughts

Putting is a tricky business in Disc Golf, and while the rules for putting are exactly the same as throwing, there are still things to consider when you’re so close to the basket! As long as the disc isn’t landing in the basket from the side and sits securely in the basket, or is balancing in the chains, then it is considered a basket.